Announcement of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine: Barry J. Marshall & J. Robin for their discovery of the bacterium Helicobacter Pylori and its role in gastritis and peptic ulcer disease.

Barry J. Marshall was born September 30, 1951, in Kalgoorlie, Western Australia. He is now NHMRC Senior Principal Research fellow at University of Western Australia, where he has been Clinical Professor of Microbiology since 1999. He received 11 among honours and Award.

J. Robin Warren was born June 11, 1937, in Adelaide, South Australia. He has worked as a Pathologist at Royal Perth Hospital since 1968.

2005 Nobel Prize in Physics: Roy J. Glauber, (1/2 of the prize, USA) for his contribution to the quantum theory of optical coherence. John L. Hall (USA) & Theodor W. Hansch (Germany) will receive the other half of the prize (1/4 for each) for their contributions to the development of laser-based precision spectroscopy, including the optical frequency comb technique.

2005 Nobel Prize in Chemistry: Yves Chauvin from Institut Français du Pétrole (1/3 of the prize, France), Robert H. Grubbs from California Institute of Technology, CA (1/3 of the prize, USA) and Richard R. Schrock from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA (1/3 of the prize, USA) will receive the prize for the development of the metathesis method in organic synthesis.


BM&L-October 2005